Enjoy All Darby Montana & Ravalli County Have To Offer



Southwestern Montana features a landscape unlike many others. Chosen as the filming location for the television show Yellowstone, the Bitterroot Valley offers access to incredible destinations like Selway-Bitterroot Wilderness Area, Yellowstone National Park, Lewis and Clark Trail, Bitterroot National Forest, Clark Fork River, Glacier National Park, Blodgett Canyon and the Bitterroot River. Darby features six parks within city limits as well as the Darby Trail System, which offers over three miles connecting prominent town locations. Darby Community Clubhouse, Darby Pioneer Memorial Museum, Como Schoolhouse and Richard Cromwell Memorial Rodeo Grounds host unique events and cultural opportunities in the area.


Tourism, log home manufacturing, agriculture and medical research are major industries in the Bitterroot Valley. Healthcare is met by Marcus Daly Memorial Hospital and numerous medical clinics. K-12 students have several options for public or private education including the Darby School District. The University of Montana, Bitterroot College and Missoula College offer accessible continued education.



The first pioneer settlement in Montana was established in the Bitterroot Valley in 1841, 48 years before statehood. Following the explorations of Lewis and Clark; gold mining, the western rail system and the beef industry sparked development in this area. Darby, MT maintains a strong western heritage to this day.


Known as the state’s “Banana Belt,” warm to hot summers and cold winters are typical as part of the humid subtropical climate experienced in southwestern Montana. Darby, MT receives 49 inches of snow and 16 inches of rain on average each year. Sunshine occurs on 157 days out of the year annually.